Three Developmental Phases of Shared Governance in Nursing

m Bookmark and Share
Phase 1
  • Staff nurse representatives—members of clinical forums, have authority for designated practice -issues and some authority for de-termining roles, functions, and processes.
  • Managers - members of management forums, responsible for facilitation of practice through -resource management and allocation.
  • Executive committee - administrative and staff membership, often in disproportionate numbers, - accept recommendations from staff nurses and managers.
  • Chief nurse executive - retains final decision-making authority.
Phase 2
  • Staff nurse representatives - members of nursing committees that are designated for specific - management and/or clinical functions.
  • Managers - serve on same committees with staff nurses.
  • Committee chairs - appointed by chief nurse executive.
  • Nursing cabinet - composed of multiple committee chairs that make final decisions on recom-mendations from the committees.
Phase 3
  • Staff nurse representatives - belong to councils with authority for specific functions.
  • Council chairs - make up management committee charged with making all final operational -decisions.