Member Spotlight: Achievement & Recognition

m Bookmark and Share
Exclusively for members of the American Nurses Association (ANA), Member Spotlight is a periodic column in the ANA Nursing Insider that recognizes members’ professional awards and accomplishments.
  • At the first American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) Pathway to Excellence Conference in Austin, TX, on July 14, 2011, ANCC President Michael Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, honored Texas Nurses Association (TNA) President Margie Dorman-O'Donnell, MSN, RN, and Executive Director Clair Jordan, MSN, RN, with a recognition award for TNA’s contribution to nursing excellence through the vision and implementation of the Texas Nurse-Friendly™ program. In 2007, ANCC acquired the program, renaming it the Pathway to Excellence® Program and launching it on a national scale.

  • Congratulations to Arkansas Nurses Association member Elaine Peterson, RN, who won the 2010 “Arkansas Most Compassionate Nurse” award! This award, sponsored by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing magazine, recognizes nurses throughout the state that go above and beyond the call of duty.
If you would like to submit an item for the Member Spotlight column, please contact Stacy Prince, ANA Senior Public Relations Specialist, at, along with any relevant materials (i.e. press releases, news articles).