NIH Director Welcomes Five New Members to the Advisory Committee

m Bookmark and Share
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) announces the selection of five individuals to serve as members of the Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD). Since 1966, the ACD has advised the NIH Director on policy and planning issues important to the NIH mission of conducting and supporting biomedical and behavioral research, research training, and translating research results for the public.

The new members, who join 15 members of the council, are Mary Beckerle, Ph.D., of Salt Lake City, Utah; Colleen Conway-Welch, Ph.D., CNM, FAAN, FACNM, of Nashville, Tennessee; Walter Isaacson, of Washington D.C.; Thomas J. Kelly, M.D., Ph.D., of New York, New York; and Keith R. Yamamoto, Ph.D., of San Francisco, California.

Colleen Conway-Welch, Ph.D., CNM, FAAN, FACNM, has served as professor and dean of Vanderbilt University School of Nursing since 1984. She has been active in nursing practice and education for more than four decades. The holder of three honorary doctorates from Cumberland University, Georgetown University, and the University of Colorado, she is also a graduate of Georgetown University, Catholic University of America, and New York University. She has published extensively, served on President Reagan's Commission on the HIV Epidemic in 1988, the National Bipartisan Commission on the Future of Medicare in 1998, the Governor's Tennessee Commission on the Future of TennCare, and was appointed by then-Secretary Tommy Thompson to the Secretary's Council on Public Health Preparedness, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness, Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS). She is also a member of the Medicare Coverage Advisory Committee (MCAC) with DHHS and a member of the George Washington University Homeland Security Policy Institute. Dr. Conway-Welch was named by President Bush and confirmed by the U.S. Senate in 2006 as a member of the Board of Regents of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, the premier training program for military health care providers. She is a fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, a charter fellow of the American College of Nurse-Midwives, a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Science, and serves as a director on the Boards of Pinnacle Bank, RehabCare Group, and Ardent Health Services, in addition to numerous other 501(c)3 boards such as the Health Care Leadership Council in Washington, D.C. She is also the founding director of the Nursing Emergency Preparedness Education Coalition (formerly the International Nursing Coalition for Mass Casualty Education).

Read NIH Press Release