Passing of Nursing Leaders

m Bookmark and Share
ANA offers condolences regarding the sad news of the deaths of two nursing leaders this past week:
  • Margaret A. Wheatley, PhD, RN, CNS, a member and past president of the Ohio Nurses Association

    Wheatley served as the President of the Ohio Nurses Association (ONA) for four years (1993-1997). Prior to her term as President of ONA, she was the founding Chair of the ONA Minority Issues Assembly. In 1996, under her leadership, the American Nurses Association (ANA) presented ONA with the Affirmative Action Award. In 1999, she received the Dorothy L. Cornelius Award for Leadership from ONA. She held various other positions in ANA at the national, state, and local levels. She was a fellow of the Minority Fellowship Program at ANA. She was also a member of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association, the Gerontological Society of America, the Midwest Nursing Research Society, the National Black Nurses Association, and Sigma Theta Tau.

  • Richard T. Hader, PhD, RN, NE-BC, FAAN, CHE, CPHQ, a member of the New Jersey State Nurses Association

    Hader was Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at Meridian Healthcare, the first system in the country to achieve Magnet Status.

    Hader further demonstrated his commitment to the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) through his service as an ANCC Magnet Recognition Program® appraiser. In 2010, Hader earned ANCC’s Certified Specialty Nurse Award for leading the transformation of nursing practice and patient care. He spearheaded the establishment of the Institute for Evidence-Based Care, a unique interdisciplinary, patient-centered research facility to help clinicians stay abreast of medical knowledge and technology.