ANA National Awards Program

m Bookmark and Share
National Awards Program Logo

About The ANA National Awards Program

Since the early 1900s, the American Nurses Association has presented awards to prominent registered nurses to recognize their outstanding contributions to the nursing profession and the field of health care. Provisions have also been made to honor, on special occasions, individuals who are not members of the nursing profession but have made significant contributions to health and/or nursing care.

The awards program was established to pay special tribute to those individuals who, through distinguished service to the nursing profession:

  • work for the improvement of health standards and the availability of health care services to all people;
  • foster high standards of nursing; and/or
  • stimulate and promote the professional development of registered nurses and advance their economic and general welfare.

A primary goal of the awards program is to inform members of the nursing profession, other health professionals, government officials, and the public of the outstanding accomplishments and significant achievements of individual registered nurses in the delivery of health care. In addition, the awards program assists the public in gaining a better understanding of the role of nursing and its significant contribution to the delivery of health care.

2014 ANA National Honorary Award Recipients
Vernell P. DeWitty, PhD, MBA, MSN, RN - Mary Mahoney Award
Michael L. Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN - Luther Christman Award
Cheryl A. Krause-Parello, PhD, RN - Jessie M. Scott Award
Rebecca M. Patton, MSN, RN, CNOR, FAAN - Distinguished Membership Award
Barbara Zittel, PhD, RN - Barbara Thoman Curtis Award