Luther Christman Award

m Bookmark and Share
Recognizes the contributions that an individual man in nursing has made to the profession of nursing.

Established in 2007, the ANA acknowledges the valuable role of men in nursing with the establishment of the Luther Christman Award. The Luther Christman award recognizes the significant contribution an individual man has made to the nursing profession. It is named in honor of Dr. Luther Christman and his outstanding service to advancing the nursing profession.

Luther Christman Award
Luther Christman, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been a champion for improving professional nursing practice and elevating the educational level of the nursing profession. Throughout a nursing career that has spanned 65 years, he established a premier school of nursing that pioneered the practitioner-teacher role and science-based academic models from the baccalaureate through the doctorate levels. As founder and dean of the Rush University College of Nursing, his name is often linked to the "Rush Model," a unified approach to nursing education and practice that continues to set new standards of excellence in the United States and abroad. Christman also was an early leader in the development of the role of the clinical nurse specialist. Through practice, research and publications he helped identify the value of the clinical nurse specialist in providing quality patient care. A champion of diversity in nursing, Christman was the first male to be named dean of a nursing school in the United States. As dean of Vanderbilt University's School of Nursing, he was the first to employ African-American women as faculty at Vanderbilt. Christman strongly supported the recruitment of more men into the nursing profession. He was the founder of the American Association for Men in Nursing, as well as a founder of the National Student Nurses Association. A visionary leader in nursing, Christman has served as an innovator and consultant to nursing schools, health care agencies and professional organizations in nursing and medicine around the globe. He is a national treasure in nursing and health care.

2014 Recipient

Michael L. Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Texas Nurses Association

From nursing student to his current position as nursing dean, Dr. Evans has championed innovation through visionary leadership.

He was president of the Texas Nursing Students’ Association and then served on the board of the National Student Nurses’ Association as director/Imprint editor. He later held the offices of treasurer and president of the Texas Nurses Association. He was a leader in creating and implementing the Texas Peer Assistance Program for Impaired Nurses, the first program of its type in the country. This program has protected jobs and licenses of thousands of nurses who entered treatment, and 45 states now have peer assistance programs for nurses based on this model.

On the national level, as the only hospital chief nursing officer on the American Nurses Association (ANA) Board of Directors, he was a leader in the early discussions to create the Magnet Recognition Program®. Dr. Evans served ANA as Constituent Assembly chair, two terms as secretary and then as treasurer. He is now serving as president of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Dr. Evans was one of the first hospital chief nursing officers to formally and regularly measure staff nurse job satisfaction with a plan for continuous improvement. This innovation was so successful that he strongly advocated that it be included in the original Magnet® standards. Now more than 400 Magnet hospitals around the world use this process to enrich nurse workplace satisfaction.

After 25 years in hospital nursing administration, Dr. Evans’ career bridged to academic nursing administration as the founding dean of the Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College in St. Louis, where he executed a bold strategic plan that transformed the school. Currently, he serves as the dean of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing, where he has led the expansion of programs throughout Texas via innovative and exciting online delivery, including implementing the first graduate nursing informatics program in Texas.

Dr. Evans also makes significant contributions to literature about leadership, policy, political action and nursing’s power base, and he mentors emerging leaders in service, education, policy and advocacy.