Hildegard Peplau Award

m Bookmark and Share
Recognizing significant contributions to the field of psychiatric nursing.

Established in 1990 to honor a nurse who has made significant contributions to nursing practice over a lifetime through scholarly activities, clinical practice, and policy development, specifically directed towards the psychosocial and psychiatric aspects of nursing care delivery.

Hildegard Peplau Award

Hildegard Peplau, EdD, RN, FAAN, was a major force within the profession and discipline of nursing for over three decades. She made significant contributions as a leader within the professional organization serving a both the president and executive director of ANA, and within the discipline as developer of theory and innovator in developing the role of the psychiatric nurse. She helped to pioneer the development of the Clinical Specialist in Psychiatric Nursing and served as mentor to countless members of psychiatric nurses across the country. Dr. Pepalau, who died in March 1999, will be greatly missed as an exceptionally clear thinker who changed the field of nursing and the sub-specialty of psychiatric nursing dramatically over the course of her career. Even in her retirement, she was called upon to be a source of knowledge and expertise. She made a significant contributions to the development of ANA's Social Policy Statement and set the stage early in her career for the development of standards of psychiatric nursing. In addition, she went to the "front lines" of psychiatric nursing practice in presenting countless continuing education workshops in state hospitals across the country, touching the lives of nurses and patients in those facilities. She provided the impetus for the integration of psychosocial concepts into the practice of all nursing, thereby enriching the care of all patients.

2012 Recipient

Catherine F. Kane, PhD, RN, FAAN
Virginia Nurses Association

Catherine F. Kane’s focus on nursing care for the seriously mentally ill spans some 30 years. As associate professor at the University of Virginia School of Nursing, she has shepherded hundreds of undergraduate and graduate students through courses, original research and capstone projects. Through her publications and funded research, she has informed the larger nursing community on multiple avenues for partnering with the seriously mentally ill on their journey to recovery and has generated new knowledge for patients and families with serious mental health conditions.

At UVA she chaired the Department of Family, Community and Mental Health Systems for 13 years, leading the development of web-based graduate education for rural nurses. Her clinical background of community mental health nursing, working with the seriously mentally ill and their families, and interest in rural problems of service delivery has proved invaluable. She modifi ed psychiatric assertive community treatment, incorporating teams of advanced practice registered nurses and consumer peer providers, to address the inordinately high morbidity and mortality rates in the seriously mentally ill population. Her publications address these issues, as well as clinical intervention programming.

In 1995, Kane was honored with fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing where sheis a member of the Psychiatric Mental Health and Substance Abuse Expert Panel and recently co-chaired a task force to write and publish the Essentials of Psychiatric Nursing for Registered Nurses. As a member of the ANA, Kane chaired the Virginia Council of Psychiatric Nurses for 10 years. She was ANA’s representative to the Joint Commission’s Behavioral Professional Technical Advisory Committee and the second nurse to chair that committee. She currently co-chairs the task force revising the ANA Scope and Standards of Psychiatric Nursing. She has been honored by the International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing with the Psychiatric Nursing Education Award and the Melva Jo Hendrix Lectureship.